I Read Millions of Words in 2016

I’m not counting internet articles, blogs, status updates, assigned school readings, etc. I listened to maybe 10 books on mp3, cd, my ipod.. but I don’t think I physically read one fiction book. I know for sure I didn’t buy one.

Goodreads has asked me to challenge myself and read more books.

image

Last year I pledged to read 40 books. I thought if I didn’t have time during the school year, I’d read during school breaks. Hahahahaha..so optimistic and naive. This year, to be realistic I pledged 1. I’ll try to read 1 published book. I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to make this goal even if I wait until the last day of the year.

BUT my main reason for writing this is, I wish we had something like Goodreads for FanFiction because I read millions of words in 2016. I read tens of thousands of pages. This year, the first 5 days of 2017, I’ve already read a long novel’s length. In one series, I’m at a little over 81,000 words (approx 300 pages) and I’ve read at least 6 one-shots ranging from 1000k-4000k. My point, is that I read loads but I’m not getting credit for it. I know..I Know.. boo fucking hoo hoo sob cry tear. But it bothers me.
I read most of my ff on fanfiction.net and Ao3 and we can favorite, give kudos, likes, bookmark, leave comments, and there are forums (though I’ve never participated) but recently I’ve been thinking, wouldn’t it be great to have something like Goodreads for FanFiction?! I think so. And I’m seriously thinking about learning more about how to code so I can help make it happen.

p.s.
I consume a lot of fanfic and I love writers and artists who create fanfiction and fan art. If you’re interested in supporting creative people/artists, please consider being a patron. Patreon is a cool site/way to do so.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Comment

