Tryin’ Ya’ll

I’ve had a trying week. I tried to fix something that was broken, I tried to get to class..on time. I tried to do all my homework and I got all of it done..minus a class that I dropped and will take next year instead.
***
Sunday/Monday night I randomly decided to stay at my cousin’s house. I’m sort of house sitting, taking care of the plants, the pond, the fish, making sure the big TV gets watched and so on. At some point in the evening, the floor in the kitchen was wet. I thought that maybe I spilled water while washing dishes. A couple hours later I hear this sort of bubbling sound. I go in the kitchen and water is coming through the floor. When I stepped on 4 of the tiles, water came up while they sunk in.
Yikes!
I called my Aunt. It was close to midnight but luckily she was home!still awake!and answered the phone! She lives maybe 5 minutes away so she came over and we dried the floor, found the source of the water, a plastic tube line coming out of the back of the refrigerator. So maybe the freezer/water hose?

She shut off the two valves under the sink but the water kept spraying from two different tears in the line. We eventually decided to cut off past where the cracks were and reattach the line to the little black connector. We heated up some water on the stove and dipped each side of the tube so it would be more malleable and fit back on the connector. That worked! Until last night around 3am.
Again, randomly? last night (my Thursday/Friday night) I decided to stay over..otherwise I would’ve come into a flooded house today. One side of the tube got a leak and was spraying water. It was pretty awful and I was pretty scared because I was alone. And it was after 3am. I looked on the internet about how to fix it. How to cut off the water supply to the house. It was dark and spider webs and creatures of the night were out. I got in touch with my cousin’s friend who is also helping take care of things around here but he was getting ready to go to work. He sent me a pic of his water valve so I knew what it looked like. I ended up calling the emergency water department number for my city and they hooked me up with an on call guy. I spoke with him on the phone and didn’t want him to come out if he didn’t have to so he talked me through some stuff. I FINALLY found the main water valve and shut it off and the refrigeration line tube trickled down to spraying only a little and then spraying nothing. *sweet relief*
2+ hours and many towels later and I finally was able to sleep.
***
This morning, when I went to drive home, the oil lamp started flashing right away. It’s been doing so on and off this week. No logic to it. It just starts flashing at some point and then stops altogether. Weird, huh? So I decided to take Champ (my car) to get an oil change. Then I went to Homo Depot, which conveniently was right across the street. I described my problem and the plumbing guy, Chris, told me it was an easy fix. And it was! 😀 I bought a little connector, cut off the tube on each side, inserted the ends into the connector,

img_20160916_191941603 turned back on the main valve, and turned the valves under the sink. Water is flowing again. The kitchen didn’t flood, the fish didn’t die. I feel proud, accomplished, and tired! *sigh*

cute_peace_tired_friday_night

***
I have an audio project that needs to be edited/put together that is due Monday and I really need to be working on it. It will get done but I think my partner is freaking out. Wish me luck!
Comment

