School Update

I like being a student. More specifically, I am enjoying being a film student. This is my 2nd semester at my school. My major is Film with a concentration in Digital Film/Video Production. I haven’t been at all excited about this term. When people asked me over break what classes I was taking, I honestly could barely remember. At the time I signed up for classes I was in the midst of final projects and I remember two of the classes I wanted were already closed and I had to get on the waiting list.

This is the 3rd week of a 16 week term. My schedule was finalized last week. I dropped two classes and added one and I am happy with the results. I think it’s going to be a good semester. I am taking Audio Production (a lecture class with a lab to be determined), Avant Garde Cinema, Writing Short Scripts for Film/Video  and Communications and American Culture. I am excited for the screen writing class. This was a class I was waitlisted for and I got in. There were 4 of us on the waitlist and 3 spots. I’m glad I was one of the ones let it.  It’s going to be a lot of writing but I’ll have a better understanding of screenwriting in a few short weeks and hopefully, at least one script that I’ll be able to produce this summer/fall. The Coms + American Culture class is going to be an interesting one. We’re watching S4 of The Wire and there will be discussions and writings based on the series. I missed last week due to illness so I still need to watch the 2nd episode before class on Thursday.

Being sick at the beginning of term sucks. I started not feeling well on Friday 1/29 and just started feeling better on Saturday 2/6. I still have a little bit of a cough and not quite back to doing yoga yet but luckily for me, I’m not too far behind in my school work. All my homework assignments are done but I have about 90 pages of readings this week!

Just finished my 22 pages of reading for Avant Garde Cinema and feel really happy. Tomorrow will be the 1st real lecture. Class was canceled last week because the Professor had a dental emergency.

All in all I am looking forward to learning all that I’ll learn this semester. Maybe because I have my health back, I am just feeling happier and more optimistic in general. Whatever the reason, I’m just going to enjoy this feeling.

Now, off to watch X-Files S10E04. I hope it was a good one.

 

Comment

