5 Days of Yoga

I have been doing yoga every day this week, since Tuesday. I started doing a DVD I used to do in my early 2os, called Power Yoga by Bryan Kest.  It has been kicking my butt but in a good way. Over the years, since I have practiced with this DVD, I have been doing what I call intuitive yoga, which entails moving my body the way it wants to from asana to asana. Even when I have not had time for full sessions of yoga, I usually do Sun Salutations. Any yoga is better than no yoga, is what I tell myself. What I came to realize during the last few days is that I am entirely too easy on myself. I haven’t really been challenging myself and this 1st program on the DVD (Energize) is really engaging every single part of my body. My arms are like, whoa! Going back to this DVD has me also thinking about my past. Thinking about how different my body is. I am 37 years old now and I weigh 40 pounds more than I did when I used to do this sequences of asanas. I don’t have breasts anymore and I can sense that difference of balance in my body. It’s been a little over 10 months and I’m all healed up but it feels sort of like starting anew.  There is familiarity and also a sense of foreignness. I’m looking forward to continuing with the practice and being more grounded in my body and healthier overall. I feel like I am getting to know myself all over again, which is exciting!

Comment

