The Silence of Our Friends…and Families

In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends.
-Martin Luther King Jr.

In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends and families.
-ejzg

The past couple of months I’ve been holding on to something that I know I need to let go of. My recurring thoughts have been, “But I would defend you. I’d never let anyone repeatedly disrespect you. No one. Never.”

There is absolute judgement in these thoughts. I am judging them. I am judging their characters. They who are so much like me. The peacemakers. The tenderhearted.

The near constant internal conflict, bred, born, fed, is that I don’t think of myself as judgemental. This isn’t me. But it is. This makes me feel sick.
There is disappointment, loss, heartache intertwined with these thoughts. But the loss and heartache isn’t one way and isn’t simply about one thing. I know this. The relationships are fractured yet still exist.

I believe in past lives/past loves, future lives/future loves. I live/love in the in between (space) places. I step into and out of this present to acknowledge that I have betrayed those who love me with my silence while they have suffered at the hands/minds/mouths of others. At some time in all my time I have allowed people to be mistreated in my presence and said nothing. I had my reasons AND my Heart failed in those moments.

Loving Heart,
Remind me to be compassionate towards others and myself, to forgive others as I’d like to be forgiven, and accept people as they are, where they are, on this journey.
Amen

Comment

