Questioning/Exploring Sexuality: Asexuality-Sexual Attraction-Sexual Desire

I’ve been thinking about sexuality a lot recently. I started searching around the internet for information about Asexuality in 2011 because at that time it had been almost 7 years since I had been with anyone and I didn’t feel sexual feelings for people. I then got involved with two women in early 2012 and was with one of them for almost two years. It’s been about a year since we ended things and last week I was like, wow, it’s been a year that I’ve had sex with someone other than myself and I didn’t even notice. And when I think about being sexual with someone my mind is like, uh, not interested so I started looking at forums and tumblr blogs and reading articles about Aesexuality again and am currently identifying with Grey-Ace (gray asexual). I’ve been reading things about sexual attraction and asking myself, how do you know what sexual attraction is? Is sexual attraction different than sexual desire? If I get sexually aroused but don’t feel interested in having sex with someone what does that mean? For years and years (maybe 9 years now) I’ve called myself a mysexual because I like having sex with myself and I don’t think anything is wrong with it. I’ve just been thinking about how to talk to other people about it. I’ve been thinking about am I ever going to be with anyone really again. I was in a sexless relationship for almost 6 years in my late teens/early 20s and when I ended that relationship it’s because I didn’t want to go the rest of my life without having sex. Now I’m thinking it was more about not having the option of sex. Any old way, tonight I came across an interesting blog exploring these things I’ve been thinking about. Here’s one of the posts: Differentiating Sexual Attraction and Sexual Desire.
Cheers

Comment

