What Is

I can feel the hair growing on my face. On my neck specifically. I can tell I have at least 5 ingrown hairs. I shaved on Saturday morning. I may have shaved too fast. I don’t know. What I do know is that it’s irritating. Truly.

I’ve been really tired recently. 2 days in a row last week and today. This morning I could barely get out of bed. The tiredness is not bone deep. It’s all over my body though. It feels like, “I need a nap right now!” all day. It’s really odd. I was so tired at work today around 4pm (only a third through my shift) that if there was a bed near by I would’ve laid down and fallen asleep instantly I’m sure.

Work has been good for the most part. The last couple weeks have gone by quickly. We are a lot busier at the bookstore than we are normally during Spring term. Usually Spring is a lot lighter than Fall but this school year the opposite is true. Our volume of customers was at an all time low this past Fall term but this Spring has been steady. It’s a good thing for the store. For me, it means less time online towards the last 1.5 hours of my shift. Usually my manager leaves around 530p and we close at 7p and I have the computer all to myself. I can play my music from Spotify Web Player or Pandora and I can mess around on the internet but the opportunities since January have been few and far between.

Tomorrow is my last day of work until sometimes in April. Next Tuesday (6 days from now!) I’m having top surgery (Chest Reconstruction Surgery) and I am soooo happy to be this close. I’ve need this surgery for over 5 years and I’m almost there. I’ll be staying with my Aunt and Uncle for 4-6 weeks and then I’ll most likely come back to San Diego and stay with my new friend (platonic) until I can save up money to rent a room.

As far as school goes, I’ve decided to drop the labs that I was in. My counselor is helping me to petition to graduate with special circumstances. Her Dean says if we submit a letter from me and a letter from her and get the Chair and the Dean in charge of the ASL program to sign the required paperwork I can get a meeting with the Vice Chancellor of Instruction and present my case. I know of one person who has graduated with the degree I’m seeking, who had her language labs waived and this really boils down to an equity issue. I fully expect the situation to be resolved and for me to receive my A.A. in American Sign Language Studies at the end of this term. If for some reason it doesn’t work out with the Vice Chancellor I’ll follow the chain of command and meet with the President of the college herself.
************************************************************
This weekend I have to clean my room at my Aunt’s house and move essential things into the converted den/TV room that I think I’ll need as I recovery from surgery. I am planning to write another blog entry in the next few days talking about the procedure a little bit and how I’m feeling about things. Until then…wishing everyone Peace!

